Daydreaming Alone

dont go.jpg

This is what I know.

Where I’ve grown, where I’ve sown.

This is what I hold to me; here is where I hold to me

This is what I want. This is what I need,

But my desires clash with what I see:

A future that isn’t mine; something being shoved into my arms

Something, no matter how loud I cry, I cannot just discard.

I know because I’ve been trying for some time by now

But closer by the hour

Inevitable

Undeniable

Here comes the flood, to wash away my home

The foundation where my goals began; the place to which I ode

No matter. It’s gone. It always has been

Physical may it not be; Yet I still hear the din

Approaching with a quickness, it’ll be here soon

At my feet, consuming me; I succumb to this monsoon

I pray it devours me quick so that I may rise strong

But as well I pray it washes feelings away of the home for which I long

Leave a Reply

